6 WAYS TO DECLUTTER YOUR WARDROBE & GET READY FOR SPRING!

Nowadays, the constant demand to purchase clothing items is higher than ever. And with that comes an endless supplies of basics, a stack of pieces you will never wear but tell yourself you will, and at least one pair of jeans you no longer fit into but one day you will. You know what I’m talking about: the bottomless pit that is your closet. Recently, I’ve not only cleaned out my wardrobe, but effectively stripped it down to bare necessities and my go-to pieces. I’m a busy woman these days. And behind me are the days of endlessly gazing at a filled-to-the-brim closet wondering “what am I going to wear today?”.

So, if you have trouble deciphering what’s going on in your closet, want a little pick-me-up, or are overall in desperate need of a closet cleanse, here are some tips I’ve picked up along the way to help you with your spring cleaning project.

  1. TAKE EVERYTHING OUT.

    And organize it in piles. Yes, and I mean it. And I know what you’re thinking: that seems a little excessive. But hear me out: When you’re simply gazing piece by piece on a rack, you’re less likely to give things up. However, when it’s all thrown into heaps you get a perspective on how much clothes you actually own and it will be easier to go through. I also suggest putting it into categories such as “dresses”, “jeans” “t-shirts” etc. so when you are looking at it as a whole, you get a visual on everything. What I mean by that is go through each category at a time and ask yourself “Do I really need 17 pairs of jeans?”. Look for similar pieces that may occur in the piles. Multiple of the same color, style, etc. And really dictate which ones you could handle with getting rid of. Also, if it doesn’t fit, let it go. I don’t wanna hear that it’s “motivation to go to the gym”. All it does for most people is promote unhealthy mindsets, get them down about themselves, and waste space. So throw it out or put it away!

  2. TAKE OUT THE SEASONAL ITEMS.

    Trust me: you don’t need seven different outerwear options in the middle of summer. Storing them away in the back of your closet or under your bed leaves more room for other bits. I love depicting my closet upon season so I have less clutter, more order, and can ensure the pieces that are being displayed are going to get some use!

  3. AN ORGANIZED MESS.

    After they’re in piles and you’re ready to get to de-cluttering, go through and start making separate piles of DONATE, SELL, TRASH, & KEEP. It will seriously help in the long run.

  4. THINK: WHEN’S THE LAST TIME I WORE THIS?

    Cant remember? Toss it. If you do remember, did you feel comfortable and confident in it? If not, toss it. The second route is: Take the items you find yourself wanting to keep even though you’ve never worn them or barely wear them and try to think of at least three realistic outfits you’d wear with these pieces. Make sure the complete outfit only has things you have in your wardrobe already, not pieces you can buy to complete it, if that makes sense. The goal is to find outfits from what you already own.

  5. DISPLAY THE PIECES YOU WANT TO WEAR MORE.

    After I find the pieces I’m keeping, I try to display the clothes I want to remember to wear more. If I’m giving myself a second chance at these pieces, I want them to be out in the open so that way when I’m picking my daily outfit, there the first I see and hopefully I’ll gravitate towards them more. Otherwise, if they’re stuffed in a drawer, I’ll be less likely to give them any thought. So to combat this, I keep them folded and out on my dresser, or I hang them on their own clothing rack.

  6. CATEGORIZE YOUR CLOSET.

    A little tip that helps me when I’m done going through my clothes is to hang/fold them a way into item categories. So, in simple terms, it just means put all your shorts folded together, hang all your short sleeve blouses in order, put all your long sleeve button ups together, etc. Typically, when I have an outfit in my head, I know the type of shirt I want and it just makes it easier to go through my options. So that’s why I don’t personally color-code my wardrobe; but if that tickles your fancy, then by all means go right ahead.

So there ya have it, six tips to minimizing and organizing your wardrobe! Hope you enjoy and happy spring cleaning!

 

And as always, thanks for reading. 

 

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

