RADIANT & HEALTHY SKIN | makeup look

 

Let me first start off by saying I personally believe a proper skin care routine is one of the most important – and first – step in the process of looking more naturally radiant and having your skin look more “healthy”.

Developing a good skin care routine that is tailored for not only your skin type, but also your skin’s needs, is definitely essential. And when done properly, can make huge differences to your skin both naturally and with makeup on.

I’m sure you all already know that my skin is extremely dry. But for some reason I’ve been even more dry this month; it’s to the point that my face feels tight, putting makeup on feels wrong and even stings, and my eyelids are a downright desert.

I wish I was exaggerating. It’s bad.

But anyways, I’ve had to purchase some products to help hydrate my skin, and am in the process of revamping my entire skin care routine. Once I’ve mastered it, I will of course fill you all in on what I use.

But until then, my skin is dehydrated. And I’m gonna show you how I fake it ’til I make it. 

PRIME

I’m gonna be real with ya’ll. I put a lot of crap on my face. And my face likes to make it disappear throughout the day. So primer’s are essential for me. I don’t think I have yet to find my go-to holy grail gotta-have it product quite yet, so right now I flip flop between Becca’s Backlight Priming Filter and Nivea’s Sensitive Post Shave Balm. Both are amazing, however Becca’s primer gives more of a glow and makes my cake face last longer for the most part. I love it. So after you moisturize your face, take whatever primer you love, and really work that into your skin (with clean hands of course) for a while until it’s dry and all soaked up. Your face will thank you, believe me.

BASE

Okay, I’m completely converted everyone. I have been using Becca’s Shimmering Skin Perfector everyday since I bought it as I try to test out what I love, what works for me, and and what gives me the best results. But if I had to choose my favorite way to use this product, I would definitely have to say using it all over my face. I think this is mostly the reason behind the radiance of the look. If you haven’t tried it, there is a bunch of amazing shades to fit most skin tones which is very convenient. I purchased Pearl because it was sheer with a nice sheen to it. When I swatched it for the first time in the store I remember thinking it looked more “wet” then “glittery highlight” which was nice. I was worried it was going to be a straight wam bam thank you ma’am kind of highlighter. Which, let’s be real, I’m all about that anyways and probably would have purchased it still. But I digress.

DEWY

It’s much easier to make a dewy foundation matte than it is to make a matte one glowy in my opinion. So I always like to pick a foundation that looks hydrating and bright, apply it with a beauty blender or a sponge, and then go in with a translucent powder if I need certain areas to be more matte (for baking purposes, typically).

BFF

I’m pale, so it’s really easy to go completely overboard with these two products. But I find that getting the right bronze shade is the right way to go. Once you find the best shade for you, go crazy. Put it all over your face. I want to see you look like you’ve been tanning on the islands for two weeks, girl… No, I’m kidding. But you should dust a bit on your cheek bones and temples. And if you’re feeling adventurous, your hairline and jawline. It adds more dimension to your face and makes you look that much more healthy. And don’t forget blush. I like to go for a light pink shade on these days, to add a slight tint of color without going too drastic. I like to make it look like a natural color, despite my instincts telling me to go for coral. I love coral. Can’t get enough of it, actually. But, for this look, try to go light handed with a softer matte pink and see how it works for ya!

HIGHLIGHT

Don’t let anyone tell you that you’re too glowy. You don’t need that kind negativity in your life. Matter of fact, go for more. Sometimes if I’m feeling a little more fancy I will take more of the Shimmering Skin Perfector and use it as a highlight base, other times any cream highlight will do. I like to use one of these and then add a bit of powder highlighter on top for fun and to be a bit more extra. Cause let’s face it: we’re going all out and we might as well go for the Home Run. But if you like to play it safe, that’s fine too. Skip out on the base/cream highlighters and go straight for your favorite highlight to top the look off and you are good to go. Strobe, baby, strobe.

 

And as always, thanks for reading!

 

 

 

