SUNNY SIDE UP | how to make your dreams a reality

SUNNY SIDE

Okay, it’s time. You’ve been giving a lot of thought into where you want to be in life, what adventure you want to take on, and where you want to be this time next year…

goal

I know that when I am striving for something new, there are two major things that happen:

01. I feel extremely excited and optimistic and want nothing more than to throw myself headfirst into it all without even thinking.Β 

02. I feel overwhelmed by the idea of beginning something new and the self doubt settles into my mind and tummy, leaving me breathless and unable to decipher what has to be done.Β 

And let me just be the one to say that if you plan on having success, and meeting your goals, both are equally detrimental to your journey.

love yourself

I personally believe that in order for one to self progress, they must first except where they are at in life currently. I say this because each time I have set my mind to a goal, and accomplished it, I was left feeling a bit empty inside afterwards. And I could never understand why. But recently, upon looking back at my progress, I realized the missing piece that was needed all along: Self appreciation.

I say such a broad term because there are so many aspects you have to indulge on in order to really be committed and happy with yourself. Self care, love, gratitude, understanding, being gentle with yourself, being comfortable with expressing yourself, confidence, etc. Of course, this is just my own opinion. But I know if I don’t believe in myself, I am never satisfied with my outcome. I could smash that goal and more, do something I have never thought possible, and overcome a huge obstacle. But if I didn’t believe in myself throughout the journey, if I didn’t celebrate who I was along the way, the accomplishment feels less like a victory and more like a third place trophy.

Now, with that all being said, I am going to leave it to you to really find out who you are and your own self perpetual journey of self love and discovery. Because that’s catered for who you are, where you’ve been, and where you’re going. But I want to say good luck,Β stay strong, and please try to be gentle to yourself. You are amazing. And so is life. Make of it all what you will.

Today I’m just going to be giving you some quick tips that I try to do when I’m first starting off with a new goal in life. Some are going to be obvious, but that’s only because we all need to be reminded of some things we need to do from time to time. So with that being said, let’s jump in!

01. Let’s get the obvious out the way: Drink water and get an appropriate amount of sleep. If you’re dehydrated and tired, nothing will give you the motivation to reach your newfound goals.

02. Find the perfect plan. Going back to what was stated above, it’s not exactly the best idea to just jump right into something without thinking it through first. What’s your plan? How are you going to succeed? What do you want to put into your day to day life to make it all easier? Really think this through!

03. Remember that nothing is linear. It’s not ever going to be a steady stream of positive progress. Some days are going to be better than others. As soon as you truly accept this, it will be easier for you to keep your motivation throughout.

04. You are going to learn things along the way. Utilize this knowledge. It’s going to progress you in ways you cannot even imagine.

05. If something is not working, change it. You don’t have to stick exactly to your original goals or plan. If something isn’t working, or there’s a better way to do it, go ahead and change things up. It keeps it all that much more interesting in the long run.

06. Never stop learning. No matter what, keep educating yourself. Keep researching, keep trying new things, keep the initiative to better yourself day by day.

07. Have fun with it! It’s not all about diligent long hours, working til you can’t keep your eyes open any longer, and isolating yourself into an goal-based oblivion. Take some time off for life, don’t let the days just pass you by. Get out in the world, surround yourself with people you love, and keep living your life as you go. Trust me. You’ll thank yourself that you did.

 

 

My Question To You: Do you have any goals you’re currently working on? What are they? How are they going so far? Let me know in the comments!

And as always, thanks for reading!

 

 

 

15 Comments

      1. That’s exactly how I am. If someone tells me I can’t do something, it fuels me more and more to accomplish my goals. You definitely have to grow to have thick skin when you have a passion for creativity. I love to make music, to write poetry, and to blog. All three are passions people don’t necessarily accept right away. I’ve learned to do what makes me happy, and block out the negative!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Indeed that’s what I do. I make an effort to do this cause I don’t get paid for this. So I get up at 3 am to schedule all my posts and then I have time for the social part of my life

        Like

    1. Thank you! and I definitely agree, that probably helps me the most out of all. It’s always a little difficult to remind yourself though. I’m always a bit too impatient about things!

      Like

Leave a Reply

