NEW THINGS I’VE ADDED INTO MY ROUTINE

20160814_163322

If there’s one thing I can say about me, it’s that I’m definitely one of those people that goes in and out of phases. I’m always looking for the next passion, the next creative boost, the next routine, the next anything.

And so far throughout August, I have been making new habits and trying some new stuff. And today I’m going to be talking about what’s new & working for me:

DEVELOPING & INVESTING IN MY OWN STYLE

For a while, I was really unhappy with my wardrobe, didn’t exactly have a style, and wasn’t comfortable in the clothes I owned. I felt discouraged and out of place – like a part of me was missing. Recently, I’ve been investing in pieces that I feel confident in, playing around with shapes and patterns, and have been embracing my body and style. It’s been great waking up and getting excited to wear a good outfit and feel more like myself again.

SUNDAY WALKS

I’ve been slowly adding in more and more exercises throughout my days recently, with the hope to gain more energy and feel a bit better overall. And it’s definitely been working. I particularly love Tyler and I’s Sunday walks. It’s honestly been so relaxing. I’m sure you all know how much I love it, by the amount I’ve posted/shared pictures about it. But it’s my favorite part about each Sunday now!

PAINTING MY NAILS

I never ever used to paint my nails before this month. I was too impatient, didn’t have enough coordination, and didn’t like the idea of having to do it every few days due to them chipping. But recently I’ve found some joy in just putting on a good podcast or show and painting my nails in the evening. (readย my affordable must-haves post to see some shades I’ve been loving recently!)

MOOD BOARDS

I’m gonna be honest with you all, friends: I’ve been going Mood Board crazy lately. I’ve made some for projects, for our home, for style inspiration, for blog inspiration, for everything. They help spark ideas, keep me on track, and are just plain fun to make. And pinterest is honestly so helpful with finding colors, pictures, textures, etc. Here’s a link to my pinterest if you are interested in seeing some things I’ve been loving recently!

ME TIME

I used to never take me time, and I don’t know how I survived honestly. I switch my routine up day to day, depending on what I’m in the mood for and how busy I am. But I always try to take a few moments to myself each day, even if that means only getting a few minutes to have a nice meal alone at lunch. Anything counts.

I’m all for ‘me time’, friends.

BETTER CHOICES

I’ve been watching what I’ve been consuming, and it’s honestly been making me feel more energized and alert. I’ve been incorporating more fresh foods and snacking less, in addition to watching my portions. While I slip up now and again (I mean, who doesn’t?), I have been really conscious about what I’m consuming. Next Up: I plan on trying new recipes!

What are some new things you’re doing recently? I wanna know!

And as always, thanks for reading!

15 Comments

  1. girl, i’m just now starting to get into investing in my own personal style, too! and i’m having so much fun investing in quality pieces that i love, rather than just buying every new trendy thing that comes out and that’ll be “out” in two months anyway. (i’m looking at you, every neon pink thing i bought in 2014.) it’s been awesome! i’d love to see more of your style journey on the blog!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yesss! I 100% agree. I never really paid attention to clothes too much, I’ve always kind of centered my attention around makeup. But it’s actually been super find finding staple pieces to wear, finding ways to style them, and exploring who I am/what I like. I’ve picked up quite a few tips/tricks as I’ve been searching for pieces, and I’ve been wanting to do some style/clothing related posts, so I’m glad to hear you say you’d like to see some! I’ll definitely be posting, especially with fall coming soon. Also: I would love to see post about some of the quality pieces you’ve purchased recently to add to your collection!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve also been doing more me and less what’s in for my wardrobe. Also I’ve been keeping up with my nail polish and I’ve recently been scheduling my days in my planner. Time to blog. Time to go to work. Time to go to class times to study etc. it’s amazing. It’s been helping me feel more prepared and less blind sided each day. It’s really nice to wake up and have a to do list. Being able to check them off makes me feel like I’m getting more and more done each day! I’ve also started focusing on increasing my water each day. I have a bottle that has ounces on the side so I can track it! It’s like a personal challenge to myself!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. It’s so useful! There’s ton of style and home inspiration, and there’s a lot of help on good recipes and blogging tips! I just followed you back, and I absolutely adore your casual wear board. Such great inspiration!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t know what it is about a good nail color, but they just make you feel that much more badass, you know? I dig it. I feel like I can conquer the world if my nails are done, haha. It’s a strange, but new, feeling.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

