ESSENTIAL PIECES FOR EVERY WARDROBE

 

20160814_163157A style is a self-expression, a statement, pieces that you pick for yourself to show the deepest inner parts of yourself with everyone. Style is pieces that you put on and feel at home in. Therefore, it’s so versatile and calls for a certain amount of creativity. A style is a definition of yourself.

Everyone has a preference, therefor everyone has a style, and yet not everyone takes the the time to explore their style preferences to grow their wardrobe. Myself included.

Typically, I went through phases where I cared more than usual, but I never invested into pieces, planned my wardrobe, or even had a style in general.I sort of wore the same simple things over and over again in different variations, and only purchased clothes once a year.

Which meant I didn’t have a cohesive wardrobe, most pieces didn’t fit properly, and I spent waaaay too much time staring into my closet unsure of what to wear – not because I cared, but because there was nothing that I felt confident in.

This all changed recently, when I took it upon myself to clear out my closet, try to find my own style, and purchased some items that I felt great in and would last a long time.

So, with that being said, if you’re unsure of what to buy and you want a little inspiration, you’re like me and just started getting into finding your own style, or are in need of a little wardrobe update, here are some essentials that I believe everyone should have in their closet no matter your style.

01. A STATEMENT COAT

This could be a structured trench, a casual military-styled jacket, or even a leather jacket. But I believe everyone should have a statement coat to spruce up any of your outfits. If you’re looking into purchasing one, I would start off with a neutral color to get the most use out of it. Find a piece that fits you well and you feel amazing in. Make sure it’s not too snug, or that it doesn’t drown out your frame entirely. And don’t be afraid to invest in this piece, because it will last far much longer.

02. DENIM, DENIM, DENIM.

Nothing feels better than wearing an amazing pair of jeans that fit in all the right places and make you feel unstoppable. I like to have one pair of denim jeans that stop at the perfect length, are comfortable enough to wear all day, and flatter my curvy frame. It’s pretty difficult to find a pair of jeans that do all of this AND make me amazing.

I’m not gonna lie, it’s almost impossible. But once I find that pair, there’s no turning back. And I believe everyone should have a great pair of jeans to throw on with anything at all times. Experiment with style, color, shape, and fit. Once you know what you prefer, and what fits your style, it will be so much easier to shop. I promise!

03. A STRIPED SHIRT

I don’t know what it is about a nice striped shirt, but it’s so universally flattering. Everyone looks great a black and white striped blouse. No matter your style, a striped shirt is a must-have in your collection.

04. BLACK TROUSERS

There are so many variations of trousers nowadays from cigarette pants to flare-legged, they have it all. and no matter what you’re into, having a good black pair of pants is important. It adds a level of chic, without making you feel uncomfortable or too dressed up in any way. Plus you can always dress them down for a casual vibe when you need to, which is always fun!

05. A WHITE BUTTON UP

A crisp white button up is another one of those versatile classic pieces that I love oh so much. You can keep it disheveled with some jeans and boots, tuck into a classic pencil skirt for a more put-together look. You can also play with the fit: over-sized and slouchy, or a more snug classic fit.

06. AN AMAZING PAIR OF LOAFERS

I don’t know what it is about loafers, but I love them. I can’t get enough of them. And I always reach for them. They’re just so comfortable and effortless. My favorite casual outfit to wear is a nice denim, a classic neutral sweater over a button up, and some loafers. That’s definitely my go-to outfit when the weather permits.

 

Of course, this is strictly my opinion. But I tried to pick pieces that are not only a statement in my closet, but are items that a lot of different styles reach for in their own different ways.

What are your essentials in your wardrobe? Let us all know in the comments to help those who need some style inspiration! 

And as always, thanks for reading!

 

 

 

 

 

3 Comments

      1. Have you found any yet? Just wondering about what kinds of places I should be looking. I had a high waisted pair from Topshop (Joni I think?) but to be honest I wasn’t that impressed. I mean, I LOVED them, at first, but after about 6 months they just didnt look great. Faded, not as stretchy (or maybe too stretchy) and threads coming loose. I guess I did wear them a lot though, I will likely end up getting another pair anyway!

        I hop you don’t mind, but I;ve mentioned this post in my most recent post: My Month in Blog Posts https://naomirowan.wordpress.com/2016/09/07/my-month-in-blog-posts-august/
        xx

        Like

Leave a Reply

