HOW TO MAKE YOUR SMALL SPACE FEEL MORE LIKE HOME | interiors

 

cuppp

 

I don’t know what it is, but every few months or so I go through a crisis where I’m suddenly unhappy with how my home is looking and go back to the drawing board in a bling panic, endlessly scroll on pinterest, and spend my money on unnecessary items hoping to revamp my space.

And then I stand back and realize that I didn’t get anything accomplished and the space looks exactly the same, only with a throw blanket and some candles added into the mix.

Needless to say, I’m going through the quarterly crisis right this moment and the am currently trying to resist the urge to rip apart my entire home top to to bottom (for Tyler’s sake, and my bank account’s, if I’m honest).

If you’re like me and quickly get tired of decor, are in need of a space revamp, or are generally just interested in decor, stay tuned because I plan on talking all about how to change your space without a total renovation!

01. pick some solid paint colors that express you in the best ways possible

I’m becoming a huge fan of neutral tones, and have found that I’ve been slowly transitioning my home and wardrobe into incorporating simple colors. And this doesn’t fall short with my paint either. The rooms in my home are pretty quaint, so walls are currently all gray with some pops of blue here and there. But I’m definitely interested in swapping out the blue, giving my hallway a better paint choice, repainting the kitchen/bathroom cabinets a fresh coat of white and some overall more tender care.

I also suggest looking into color palettes, find a general color-scheme for your home, and plan ahead before buying buckets of paint and having no idea what to do with them. If you like a lot of color, dedicate each room to a color, think about the sort of overall style you want in each room, and then go from there. Pinterest is always extremely helpful for these sort of decisions!

02. utilize the wall space to your advantage

I absolutely love when I see homes with tons of artwork, framed photos, mirrors, or floating shelves with books. I think it’s a wonderful way to not only bring life to a space, but also add some unique touches to each room.

paint

Right now the only piece of art I have in my home is this piece that hangs up on my bedroom wall. I found it at a flea market nearly a year ago, and it just so happened that every single time I passed by it, the vendor was away from their table. Months passed by, the painting remained, and I loved it from afar. Until just by chance, I stumbled across the lovely owner and immediately purchased this gem. For $5. It still puts a smile on my face every time I see it!

But, getting back on track, utilizing wall space for objects is a lovely way of saving floor space. Don’t have room for a big entertainment center? Throw up some shelves. Have a bunch of books and don’t know what to do with them? Make a floating book case. Have a bare wall in your bathroom and don’t know what to do with it? Buy a bunch of different sized prints, frame them, and there you have it! And don’t get me started on mirrors, they are great if you want to make your space seem more spacious! Hanging plants are also a lovely way to go as well.

03. if you don’t want to spend a lot of money, add some easy items for a cozy feel

Contrary to what I said above, a lovely way to make your home a bit more cozy and alive is by simply adding some extra fun items such as: throw pillows, knit blankets, an area rug, patterned curtains, a statement duvet set, etc.

I have a problem where I usually focus on buying big statement items and then forget the small pieces to really pull the place together. Like right now, I have a lovely entertainment stand and yet nothing but my ps4 and candles on top. And I’ve found that it generally makes the place just feel a bit cold and bare. Which is the opposite of what I’m trying to accomplish here, let’s be real.

(Side Note: starting off with your statement furniture and then adding items afterwards is a great way to begin styling a space. Once you get the general vibe, the rest of the items will come easily after you establish the basic vibes).

H&M online has a great affordable home section to get easy accessories to transform your home and give it some life, so if you haven’t already check them out, I definitely suggest doing so!

 

What are some favorite items you’e recently purchased for your home/room lately? I would love to know!

And as always, thanks for reading!

14 Comments

  1. As a girl, it’s easy to want to fill a space and decorate every inch of a room which can be expensive but I’ve found that the best things I have, I have picked up over the years traveling or were given to me as gifts. They have the most meaning and make my little space feel cozy!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great tips! I have a small place and it’s been challenging for me recently because I’m trying to turn my living room into an office as well but now I’m left with chairs randomly placed around the room, haha. You’re exactly right about adding easy items though because it really does make a huge difference!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know the struggle! I’ve been trying to work my living room into being more functional as well and honestly, it’s nowhere near being ready for a pinterest picture, haha. It’s been taking a lot of trial and error (and money, lets be real here :P) for it to start coming together nicely. But I would love to see a living room/desk tour once you’re happy with your new setup, doll!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

