SUNNY SIDE UP | how to overcome creativity blocks

 

creative-block-title-2

It’s difficult when you have so much passion, so much love, so much drive for something. While it can set your soul free, it can also confine your heart. I find that the only way to truly surpass the limitations of your mind is to not fight what you feel, but to embrace it. Once you can truly look yourself in the eye, you will unlock the door to any direction. Only then, you will be able to find peace. 

img_0912

When I first began blogging months ago, I was so shocked at how easily writing posts came to me. I could churn out a blog post a day – both writing and taking photos, and was in total bliss for finding a hobby that I enjoyed and could stick to a routine for.

And while most times blogging is similar to that scenerio, I have learned that occasionally there are days where I cannot find even an ounce of inspiration. Whether it be due to a cluttered mind, a busy schedule, or overall stress, I have days where I can’t seem to figure out how to get in the right mindset to make a post.

And while it’s honestly still a learning process on finding ways to get my inspiration back enough to get productive, I have found some key elements that help me get over my creative block.

creative-block-text

01. get out & go somewhere new

It can be hard at times to think when you’re in the same environment every day. I find that it’s so much better to just get out into the world for a bit. Whether you want to grab coffee, go take a walk with someone, or just go people watching for inspiration, it doesn’t matter. Sometimes even just being out in the fresh air is good enough. When I’m having a creative block, I typically like to stretch and take a walk around my neighborhood with a good playlist!

02. don’t confine or limit your ideas

A lot of the time when I feel a creative block coming on, it’s because I’m telling myself that my ideas aren’t good enough or what people will read/enjoy. And in return, I will just not make a post that day. But in all actuality, on days where I feel less creative I should be more open to ideas. So try not to focus on what you typically do. When I’m feeling creatively blocked, I try to go outside my comfort zone a bit. So instead of doing a makeup product review if I always do them, I will instead do a cooking recipe. It helps add character to my blog, allows me to test out a post genre and see how my reader’s like it, and allows me to surpass the feeling of boredom. Because while I love writing about my passions, sometimes it’s nice to spice the batch up a bit. I definitely suggest finding something that makes you excited, and run with it!

03. remember that there is no “right way” to do it

I’m a firm believer in this statement. Everyone’s success is measured differently, everyone’s process is unique. There’s no specific formula to get you where you want to go. No matter how helpful it is to endlessly scroll for ideas, at the end of the day, you will never reach the same exact results as anyone else. The worst thing you could possibly do when you’re blocked is to make yourself feel guilty. Sometimes we all just need a bit to recollect our inspiration. And that’s okay. You will produce better quality work when it’s natural, rather than forcing yourself to complete a task.

04. don’t ignore the signs

We don’t typically sit back to really evaluate our feelings as we feel them. But I have come to grips with the fact that it is definitely a must-have skill to master as you grow older. Figuring out what is making your feel uninspired is essential to moving past it all. If you’re mind is cluttered with worries, if you just feel drained and need a day to yourself to recuperate, whatever it may be, there’s ways to subside the feelings. There is a key reason behind what’s going on. Find that, find a way to counteract it, and you’ve just unlocked the door to productivity, my friend.

05. If all else fails, reward yourself

If two hours past and you still haven’t made any progress, try bringing in an incentive. If you complete ___ amount of work, if you write ___ amount of words, etc. than you can get something in return. I do this a lot when I feel lethargic but have house cleaning to tend to. Most of the time it’s: if I put away the laundry, I’ll treat myself to a coffee. And honestly: it works. It’s sort of cheating, but hey, whatever gets you out of your mind funk.

And remember, if it’s just not happening, than let that be a sign to take a mini break from it all and come back refreshed tomorrow.

 

What are some things you like to do when you’re lacking inspiration? Let me know in the comments! 

And as always, stay bright!

 

12 Comments

  1. I think your blog is going to teach me a lot. I find that if I do not think about what I am going to write it just flows, this is my spiritual side. Thank you for liking my five little angel poems, I am really enjoying writing them. I already have one ready for tomorrow they are quite addictive. So pleased to have found your site…… Elaine. 😇😇😇

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Excellent advice, Kimberly. The important thing is not to tie yourself up in knots when the muse has gone to the spa for a couple of hours. The words will come back. Trust me. I’ve been writing professionally for more than 40 years. Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

