OCTOBER TBR | books we all should be reading this month

down

One of my favorite ways to spend an evening has always been reading. And while I mostly don’t have spooky books this October (I know, what a shame. A crime, really). But I really wanted to share with you some titles that really caught my attention and I plan on reading this month. 

If you have any reccomendations feel free to leave them in the comment section. I’m sure we would all appreciate it dearly!

img_0919

01. replica – lauren oliver 

october 4, 2016
sci/fi & young adult

While I’ve generally grown out of my young adult phase of book genres, this really caught my eye upon first reading about it. It kind of gave me EL from Stranger Things vibes, except not really. 

Good Reads’ synopsis reads the following: “Gemma has been in and out of hospitals since she was born. ‘A sickly child’, her lonely life to date has revolved around her home, school and one best friend, Alice. But when she discovers her father’s connection to the top secret Haven research facility, currently hitting the headlines and under siege by religious fanatics, Gemma decides to leave the sanctuary she’s always known to find the institute and determine what is going on there and why her father’s name seems inextricably linked to it…”

02. shrill: notes from a loud woman – lindy west 

“women are funny, it’s okay to be fat, and feminists don’t have to be nice”

already released 
non-fiction, humor, feminism, autobiography

This title speaks to me on another level. No, scratch that. This woman speaks to me on another level. A comedian slash plus size slash feminist shash confident woman who’s genuinely entertaining and a great writer? Who also lives in Seattle. I’m already swooning. I already aspire to be her. After having a mini freak out, I searched her on YouTube to watch some content from her, and found a tour date video all about the notes on her new book. And I immediately had to watch. And now I’m here to say: you have to watch as well! It’s so good. Watch if you’re interested in getting a sneak peak (chapter 1) before you dive into a purchase. 

Good Reads’ writes:  “…With inimitable good humor, vulnerability, and boundless charm, Lindy boldly shares how to survive in a world where not all stories are created equal and not all bodies are treated with equal respect, and how to weather hatred, loneliness, harassment, and loss–and walk away laughing. Shrillprovocatively dissects what it means to become self-aware the hard way, to go from wanting to be silent and invisible to earning a living defending the silenced in all caps.”

03. spare and found parts – sarah maria griffin

october 4, 2016
sci/fi, young adult, fiction

I know I said I barely read Young Adults, and yet here we are. Yet another one. But, here me out, as I grasp ahold of any significant dignity left: this is a good one. (Well, I’m guessing. I have yet to indulge in it, but, nonetheless). 

Good Reads’ describes the book as, “Nell Crane has always been an outsider. In a city devastated by an epidemic, where survivors are all missing parts—an arm, a leg, an eye—her father is the famed scientist who created the biomechanical limbs everyone now uses. But Nell is the only one whose mechanical piece is on the inside: her heart. Since the childhood operation, she has ticked. Like a clock, like a bomb. As her community rebuilds, everyone is expected to contribute to the society’s good . . . but how can Nell live up to her father’s revolutionary idea when she has none of her own?

Then she finds a mannequin hand while salvaging on the beach—the first boy’s hand she’s ever held—and inspiration strikes. Can Nell build her own companion in a world that fears advanced technology? The deeper she sinks into this plan, the more she learns about her city—and her father, who is hiding secret experiments of his own.”

04. small great things – jodi picoult 

october 15, 2016
fiction, contemporary, adult 

This one seems real, raw, and thought-provoking as it speaks about race in a modern society. And I am super interested in reading all about it! 

The synopsis is: “Ruth Jefferson is a labor and delivery nurse at a Connecticut hospital with more than twenty years’ experience. During her shift, Ruth begins a routine checkup on a newborn, only to be told a few minutes later that she’s been reassigned to another patient. The parents are white supremacists and don’t want Ruth, who is African American, to touch their child. The hospital complies with their request, but the next day, the baby goes into cardiac distress while Ruth is alone in the nursery. Does she obey orders or does she intervene? Ruth hesitates before performing CPR and, as a result, is charged with a serious crime.”

 

What are some of your favorite books at the moment? Leave me some suggestions in the comments! 

And as always, thanks for reading!

 

4 Comments

    1. Oooh, The Girl on the Train looks amazing! Definitely want to read the book, before I watch the movie. I haven’t heard of Couple Next Door, so I’ll have to check that out! Thanks for the recommendations!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment